Episode # 311 – The deeper significance behind Bhagawan Krishna taming the seven bulls!!!


In the previous episode, we had witnessed Bhagawan Krishna marrying Kalindi, Mitravinda and Satya. This Satya seems to be very close to the description of Alwars and Aandal in Tamil as “Nappinnai”. All the events that led to Bhagawan Krishna marrying this Satya are exactly described the same way by the Alwars with respect to Nappinnai. Hence, we should understand here that Nappinnai and Satya are one and the same, and should not be looked upon as two different individuals. We had witnessed the Svayamvar ceremony of this Satya and how Bhagawan Krishna wins over the Svayamvar by taming seven bulls and King Nagnajith (Satya’s father) was extremely happy with Bhagawan Krishna’s valour. Satya was literally waiting for this moment to come and she was madly in love with Bhagawan Krishna. Thus, the Svayamvar was over and Bhagawan Krishna successfully married Satya.

In this above event, we would see some insightful messages that are totally hidden. We’ve seen that King Nagnajith has unleashed seven mad bulls raging over, there’s a deeper meaning to this. Each of these bulls have two horns, isn’t it? So, seven bulls would have fourteen horns. This number too has a deeper meaning attached. Now readers might wonder why am I giving so much of stress to these numbers of seven and fourteen. Let us discuss this in detail today. Here, Satya is a “Jeevatma” and Bhagawan Krishna is the “Paramatma”. According to our “Vedaanta”, if a Jeevatma is trying to attain the ultimate goal of Moksha, or attaining the divine feet of the Paramatma, he / she has to cross through seven “stages”. These seven bulls indicate the seven “stages” that a Jeevatma should cross over, if he / she has to reach Moksha. In each of these seven “stages”, there are two “aspects” that would be of constant hinderance to us from crossing over to the next stage. These two “aspects” are like the two horns of the bull.

Now let us look at the seven “stages” that we’re talking about currently – Garbha, Janma, Baalya, Kaumaara, Youvana, Jaraa and Maranam. These are the seven “stages” through which we transcend through in each birth that we take. As we might know, “Garbha” stage signifies that time wherein we’re in our mother’s womb. When we come out of the mother’s womb, we enter into the next stage called “Janma”. We’re a child now, crying for the mother’s milk. After this stage comes the “Baalya” wherein, we are a kid. We go to school and start learning slowly what’s happening around us. Post this stage, we enter into the Kaumaara stage or the “adolescent” stage, wherein we start thinking about marrying someone and enjoy some pleasures related to it. Our hormones also play an important role in it. As we pass through this, we enter into the next stage called the “Youvana”. This is where we have kids, set up our family, etc. and start leading a life of our own. This is considered to be our prime phase of our life. Subsequent to this, we enter the phase called “Jaraa”, wherein we start getting old and start experiencing typical old-age issues. Our body becomes weaker and less-resistant and because of this, we invite diseases to take over. Finally, we reach the “Maranam” stage wherein we’ve to put an end to this human birth of ours.

Now that we’ve seen the seven different stages of human life, just like how the bull had two horns, each stage of our life has two “horns” – “Sukha” (Happiness) and “Duhka” (Sorrow). This happens in every stage of our life – When we’re at our mother’s womb, we go through happiness of eating whatever food that our mother consumes. We’re secluded and warm inside, and this also gives happiness. On the other hand, we feel so confined inside the four walls of the womb and we cannot even move our hands and legs freely. This is the sorrow part that we experience. Similarly, we face both happiness and sorrow alternatively in every stage of our life, isn’t it? We’ve been witnessing them for ourselves, and I don’t need to explain this point for each and every stage. We can relate them to our own lives and with our own experiences that we have day after day. But the point here is that, every stage has its own happiness and sorrows. We’ve got no choice but to go through all of them.

Thus, we see here that the seven stages of life are like the seven bulls that we’re talking about here. Like each bull having two horns, each of our stage undergoes two momentous stages – Happiness and sorrow. By controlling all of these and by focusing at our only goal of attaining “Moksha”, if a person is striving towards Him, Bhagawan Krishna accepts all of us and grants us the highest Moksha, isn’t it? This is exactly how this girl Satya too attained Bhagawan Krishna’s hand. Thus, we should understand here that, when Sage Sukhaachaarya explains that Bhagawan Krishna married girl after girl, we should not literally view them as a worldly affair. Behind each marriage that Bhagawan Krishna did, He conveys a deeper message of “Vedanta” which all of us should understand. Sadly, this is where many of us are carried away! We just keep propagating that Bhagawan Krishna was a womanizer and was going behind each and every woman that He came across. It is not at all the case! All these so-called “marriages” are a union between the “Paramatma” and the “Jeevatma”. It is to be remembered that Bhagawan Krishna gave “Moksha” by marrying only those people who deserved it. Whomever Bhagawan Krishna married, were all blessed souls and spiritually advanced souls. It is not that, He married some roadside woman and enjoyed the pleasures of a worldly human life.

Hence, for today, let us understand this important point and the deeper meaning behind Bhagawan Krishna’s marriage with Satya or Nappinnai. We shall wait till the next episode to witness what happened next! Stay tuned! 😊


Published by Dr. Jeayaram

Holds a PhD in Management Psychology from Universite Paris Saclay, Paris, France. Also an Asst. Professor of Human Resources management at Bharatidhasan Institute of Management (BIM) Trichy, India A professional South Indian classical musician (singer) performing concerts. Through this blog, I'm trying to bring out the richness of Indian culture & values and I request your support and feedbacks in making this humble effort a success!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: