Episode # 62 – Time calculations for “Deva-Lokha” and “Bramha-Lokha”!!!

Little Krishna

The previous episode witnessed an important continuation of the vast discussion on “time” and various parameters and measurements that are used as per our Sanaathana Dharma literature. We had, in the last episode spoken about the calculation that is involved in “Raashi” and “Nakshatra”, wherein we saw that there are 12 Raashi’s and 27 Nakshatras. We also saw how the “Amaavaasya” (No-Moon day) and “Pournami” (Full-Moon day) calculations are done and some places in the Sanaathana Dharma literature wherein details of the gravitational effect the moon has over the earth during these two days. There is a fifteen-day time period between these two days, wherein the moon loses its shine and once again regains it gradually in the next cycle of fifteen days. Thus in a month of 30 days, we would have one “Amaavaasya” and one “Pournami” day and 2*15=30 days. Of course, we also witnessed certain important names of each day that constitutes this 15 day period too.

Thereafter, we witnessed the year-calculation of the larger unit called “Yuga”, and how many years constitute the four different Yugas – Krita Yuga, Tretha Yuga, Dvaapara Yuga and Kali Yuga. Thus with this, we can even partly calculate the age of the earth and its ability to sustain life, which comes to roughly about 43 Lakh years (4.3 million years). This again coincides with many modern-day scientific studies that are done to check for the age of the earth. Of course, this is not the full calculation. We would get to know the full calculation during the course of this episode when we talk of a greater calculation than this.

Having said thus, these are the various important calculations of time with respect to our “Manushya Lokha” (Earth surface where all of us, normal human beings reside). However, if we consider the context of the “Deva Lokha”, (The world of Celestial beings), there is an entirely different set of time calculations. We shall see a short accord in this in today’s episode, as we move forward. As we’ve witnessed that the first six months of our year-calculation to be “Utthara-Ayanam” and the next six months to be “Dakshina-Ayanam”, it is very interesting to see here that this six-month-period of “Utthara-Ayanam” is just the “daytime” of one day for the Deva Lokha! Subsequently, the “Dakshina-Ayana” six-month period of ours, is considered to be the “night-time” of the same day for the Deva Lokha! From this, we can infer that whatever 365 days of time period we calculate as 1 year, it implies one day for the Deva Lokha. Thus in short, one day for the Deva Lokha is equal to one year of Manushya Lokha! Hence, if we’ve to look into the lifespan of the “Chatur-Yuga”, we’ve witnessed that, for us it is a time-period of 43,21,000 years. Now, how will this mathematics hold for the Deva Lokha? If we’ve to divide this figure with the above-mentioned formula, we would get roughly around 12,000. Thus, we can infer that whatever is the gross age of the Manushya Lokha, it approximates to around 12,000 years for the Deva Lokha, or for the Celestial Beings. If we’ve to look at the ratio between the time-period of the four Yugas, for the Deva Lokha it would be 4800:3600:2400:1200. Thus, we can see from this that the total number of years for the Deva Lokha during the Krita Yuga was 4,800 years, for the Tretha Yuga it was 3,600 years, for the Dvaapara Yuga it was 2,400 years and finally for the Kali Yuga it is going to be 1,200 years.

Now all these calculations that we’ve witnessed till now are for one Chatur-Yuga. It is said that the world goes through 1000 such Chatur-Yugas put one after the other in a sequential manner. This means, we’ve to multiply this figure of 43,21,000 by another 1000 to get the actual age of the earth! This would come to around 4,321,000,000 years or roughly 4.3 billion years! This, interestingly is the time-period of “Half a day” for the “Brahma Lokha” (The place where Bhagawan Bramha resides). Thus in other words, we can witness here that one half day of the Brahma Lokha constitutes 1000 Chatur Yugas! Similarly, another 1000 Chatur Yugas would constitute the second half of one day for the Brahma Lokha! Bhagawan Bramha’s estimated lifespan is 100 such years! Hence, if we’ve to calculate the lifespan of the Bramha Lokha, we need to multiply the number of years that constitute 1000 Chatur Yugas by another 100 years! With this, we can imagine how long the lifespan is for Bhagawan Bramha and the Bramha Lokha! 🙂 However, it is to be noted that even Bhagawan Bramha or the Devas too have a definitive lifespan like us. The only difference here is that, our lifespan in this earth is much lesser as compared to the Devas and Bhagawan Bramha.

So for today, let us understand these calculations well before we move further with the context of Sage Sukhaachaarya’s reply on “Time”. I’m going a bit slow here, because this has too many mathematical calculations for readers to grasp. We shall wait till the next episode to move forward from this point! Stay tuned! 🙂













Published by Dr. Jeayaram

Holds a PhD in Management Psychology from Universite Paris Saclay, Paris, France. Also an Asst. Professor of Human Resources management at Bharatidhasan Institute of Management (BIM) Trichy, India A professional South Indian classical musician (singer) performing concerts. Through this blog, I'm trying to bring out the richness of Indian culture & values and I request your support and feedbacks in making this humble effort a success!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: