Episode # 5 – Shri Vishnu Puraana – Contents of “Amsas” 4, 5 & 6!!!

In the previous episode, we had been amidst a very important discussion on what are the contents of the humongous text of “Shri Vishnu Puraana”. In this, we had witnessed that it has six “Amsas” in total, and we’ve also seen the contents of the first three “Amsas”. The first “Amsa” spoke about how Bhagawan created this entire world, along with some excerpts from few important incarnations of Bhagawan, along with the “Dhruva Charitra”. The second “Amsa” has a detailed description on the various constituents of all the fourteen “Lokhas” including the “Bhoo-Lokha” which we are part of. Subsequently, the second “Amsa” also covers the important aspect called “Kaalam” or “Time” and the various calculations that are involved in measuring time. The second “Amsa” comes to an end with a detailed analysis of the difference between the “Atma” and the “Deham”, which forms an integral part of our Sanaatana Dharma’s “Vedanta”. Subsequently, we had also witnessed the brief contents of the third “Amsa”, which covers the details of how Bhagawan created the Vedas. It also talks about how Sage Vyaasa analyzed the Vedas in detail, and classified it into the four main categories – Rig Veda, Yajur Veda, Sama Veda and the Atharvana Veda. Moreover, the third “Amsa” also covers other important aspects like why should we perform our “Karma” in this world. This is an important discussion wherein Sage Paraashara clearly explains the intricate details behind the various types of “Karma” that we perform – Starting from “Seemantha Karma”, to “Naandi Karma” to “Shraadha Karma”, etc. This is going to be an absorbing “Amsa” and we shall discuss in detail.

Now moving on further, Sage Paraashara explains several important incarnations of Bhagawan Vishnu – He first begins with a detailed explanation of the great and revered “Soorya-Vamsa” and explains all the intricate details till the end of Bhagawan Rama’s incarnation. In this, there are some details that we might not have witnessed in the Valmiki Ramayana before – The birth story and background of Mother Sita – Where and how was Mother Sita born, how did King Janaka adopt her, and what was her background until the time when she got married to Bhagawan Rama. Subsequently, Sage Paraashara moves on to describe the “Yadu-Kula” and the “Chandra-Vamsa”, wherein Bhagawan Krishna’s incarnation comes in. The fourth “Amsa” comes to an end with the incarnation of Bhagawan Krishna. Thus, we can witness here that the fourth “Amsa” is extremely rich in detail about the “Soorya-Vamsa” and the “Chandra-Vamsa” and is going to be an absorbing “Amsa” for us to discuss in detail as well. 

Moving on with the fifth “Amsa”, this is going to a near replica of Shrimad Bhaagawatha Puraana’s tenth “Skandha” – Here too, Sage Paraashara talks in extreme detail about Bhagawan Krishna’s divine incarnation – Stories and “Leelas” (Divine plays) of Little Krishna, all the “Leelas” of Bhagawan Krishna as He grows up further to His teen-age, all the “Leelas” after Bhagawan Krishna grows up into an adult and followed by the entire “Charitra” until Bhagawan Krishna reaches Vaikunta again! All this is captured in the fifth “Amsa” in great detail. Here thus, we can witness that this fifth “Amsa” is pretty much the same as the tenth and eleventh “Skandhas” of the “Shrimad Bhaagawatha Puraana” put together. Thus, the entire fifth “Amsa” talks in detail about Bhagawan Krishna, and as ardent devotees of Bhagawan Krishna, we are in for a mega-treat very soon! 🙂 

As we now move on with the sixth “Amsa”, we’re going to witness the “Kali-Yuga Dharma” in great detail. Of course, we’ve witnessed only a brief in the “Shrimad Bhaagawatha Puraana”, but here in the “Shri Vishnu Puraana”, it is discussed in great detail. It is going to talk about the sufferings, difficulties, losses, etc. that would happen in the Kali Yuga. Amidst all this, Sage Paraashara explains clearly the ways and means as to how we should conduct ourselves, as ardent devotees of Bhagawan Krishna. Sage Paraashara also warns us here with some different types of “Avidhya” (Darkness & Illusions) that are going to be upon us and with what kind of “Vidhya” (Right Education and Awareness) should we use to win over the darkness. Finally the sixth “Amsa” would come to an end with the “Kaandikya-Keshidvaja Samvaadham”. There were two people by name “Kaandikya” and “Keshidvaja” and the dialogue between these two people comprises some important learnings and messages for all of us for today’s scenario. We shall witness that also in detail and with this, Sage Paraashara explains the “Phalastuthi” of the entire text to conclude it. 

So with this, we conclude this particular discussion on the structure of this “Shri Vishnu Puraana” text, and from the next episode onwards, we shall commence our detailed discussion on the first “Amsa”. As discussed earlier, we shall start with how Bhagawan Vishnu creates this entire world, along with the fourteen “Lokhas”. An absorbing discussion awaits us tomorrow! Stay tuned! 🙂


Published by Dr. Jeayaram

Holds a PhD in Management Psychology from Universite Paris Saclay, Paris, France. Also an Asst. Professor of Human Resources management at Bharatidhasan Institute of Management (BIM) Trichy, India A professional South Indian classical musician (singer) performing concerts. Through this blog, I'm trying to bring out the richness of Indian culture & values and I request your support and feedbacks in making this humble effort a success!!

2 thoughts on “Episode # 5 – Shri Vishnu Puraana – Contents of “Amsas” 4, 5 & 6!!!

Leave a Reply to Dr. Jeayaram Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: